Government of West Bengal

Higher Education Department

University Branch

Bikash Bhavan, Bidhannagar, Kolkata - 700091

No. 460-Edn(U)/1U(PU)-19/11

RESOLUTION

The State Government has been in active consideration of appointing a Mentor Group for the Presidency University to suggest ways of restoring academic excellence in Presidency College/University.

Now, it is notified that a Mentor Group under the Chairpersonship of Prof. Sugata Bose has been appointed for the Presidency University to suggest ways of restoring academic excellence in Presidency University. Professor Amartya Sen has kindly agreed to be consulted by the Chairperson for advice on all aspects of the Group's work. The Group is charged with making a set of short, medium and long-term recommendations and monitoring the implementation of these recommendations over the next two years. The Group will submit reports to the Chief Minister containing recommendations and reviews of the implementation process in August 2011, January 2012, August 2012, January 2013 and June 2013. The aim is to turn Presidency University into a world-class research and teaching institution by the time of its 200th anniversary in 2017-2018.

COMPOSITION OF THE PRESIDENCY MENTOR GROUP

Until further notification the group will consist of the following persons:

- 1) Professor Amartya Sen, Lamont University Professor, Harvard University (Adviser to the Chair)
- 2) Professor Sugata Bose, Gardiner Professor of History, Harvard University (Chair)
- 3) Dr Isher Judge Ahluwalia, Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER)
- 4) Professor Abhijit Banerjee, Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- 5) Professor Swapan Chakraborty, Director, National Library
- 6) Professor Sukanta Chaudhuri, Professor Emeritus of English, Jadavpur University
- 7) Professor Himadri Pakrasi, Freiburg Professor and Director, International Center for Advanced Renewable Energy and Sustainability (I-CARES), Washington University
- 8) Professor Ashoke Sen, Professor of Physics, Harish Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad

Two more members may be added in the future.

Date:19.07.2011

TERMS OF REFERENCE OF PRESIDENCY MENTOR GROUP

The terms of reference for the Presidency Mentor Group will be as follows:

- 1) To craft an appropriate governance structure for Presidency University enabling its most distinguished alumni to play a positive role in restoring it to a position of academic excellence.
- 2) To propose amendments to the Presidency University Act, 2010, as necessary, to facilitate achieving its goals of excellence and equity.
- 3) To revise and frame Statutes of the University as they relate to its governance structure, the process of appointing the Vice-Chancellor and other officers of the University, and the conduct of academic affairs.
- 4) To define search procedures and the constitution of search committees to make the best faculty appointments at the levels of Professor, Associate Professor and Assistant Professor in order to create an outstanding and diverse faculty.
- 5) To refine and streamline the admissions process in order to recruit the most talented students from all sections of society and the process for awarding scholarships and providing financial aid on the basis of merit and need.
- . 6) To suggest innovative and efficient ways of organizing Departments and Schools of the University enabling both disciplinary and inter-disciplinary appointments and courses of study.
 - 7) To propose a curricula structure and an intellectually exciting curriculum with a balance of lecture courses, seminars and tutorials and to provide detailed guidelines for innovative syllabi in the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities and the arts.
 - 8) To define the relationship between the undergraduate Colleges and the post-graduate Departments and Schools.
 - 9) To devise the most suitable academic calendar and consider whether to adopt a semester-system or year-long courses.
 - 10) To suggest ways of making rich library resources available to faculty and students, building laboratories for scientific research, and equipping the campus with state-of-the-art information technology.
 - 11) To explore whether Presidency should continue to be a State university or seek the status of a Central university or aspire to be counted as one among the new innovation universities.
 - 12) To establish a University development office and recommend a process to vet private gifts for endowed chairs, research funds, fellowships, scholarships, and physical infrastructure that might augment government funding and grants.
 - 13) To suggest cross-registration agreements with other universities and colleges and partnerships or exchanges with other research institutes in West Bengal and India.

- 14) To help create international partnerships and exchanges with select, outstanding colleges and universities in other parts of the world.
- 15) To create a provision for short courses to be taught by distinguished scholars based in other parts of the world as visiting professors.

Shri Anjan Saha, W.B.E.S. Deputy Controller of Examinations of erstwhile Presidency College, now Presidency University will act as the Secretary to the Mentor Group in addition to his normal duties and Presidency University will provide the Secretarial support service to the Group.

ORDER

Ordered that a copy of the resolution be communicated to the Commerce and Industries Department for publishing the same in the Kolkata Gazette.

By Order of the Governor

Sd/- S.C. Tewary
Principal Secretary
Higher Education Department

No. 460/1(14)-Edn(U)/1U(PU)-19/11

- 1) Professor Amartya Sen, Lamont University Professor, Harvard University (Adviser to the Chair)
- 2) Professor Sugata Bose, Gardiner Professor of History, Harvard University (Chair)
- 3) Dr Isher Judge Ahluwalia, Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER)
- 4) Professor Abhijit Banerjee, Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- 5) Professor Swapan Chakraborty, Director, National Library
- 6) Professor Sukanta Chaudhuri, Professor Emeritus of English, Jadavpur University
- 7) Professor Himadri Pakrasi, Freiburg Professor and Director, International Center for Advanced Renewable Energy and Sustainability (I-CARES), Washington University
- 8) Professor Ashoke Sen, Professor of Physics, Harish Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad
- 9) Shri Anjan Saha, W.B.E.S. Deputy Controller of Examinations, erstwhile Presidency College, now Presidency University, College Street, Kolkata 12.
- 10) Vice Chancellor, Presidency University, College Street, Kolkata 12
- 11) Registrar, Presidency University, College Street, Kolkata 12
- 12) P.S. to the Minister-in-Charge, Higher Education Department.
- 13) P.A. to the Principal Secretary, Higher Education Department.
- 14) P.A. to the Principal Secretary, Commerce & Industries Department. Government of West Bengal. With the request to arrange for its publication in the *Official Gazette* as early as possible.

Joint Secretary
Higher Education Department

Date:19.07.2011